Graduation Countdown: Jeroen Koffeman

Image converted using ifftoany

AKV | St. Joost presents the Master of Animation 2013-2014 graduation show: an overview of the year including one minute animations for The One Minutes, reflections on visual culture for the Culture Night in Breda, and of course the graduation projects.

Opening (in presence of students): Thursday August 28th, from 15.00 to 18.00
Open: August 29 – 31, from 11.00 till 17.00
Location: Chassé Theater, Van Dijnsenfoyer
Claudius Prinsenlaan 8, Breda

 

In preparation of the upcoming Master Graduation Exposition in Chassé, each week one of the students will introduce themselves and their work.

 

Hi there! Thank you for taking an interest in this post. Let me quickly introduce myself and my graduation project.

About me

I am Jeroen Koffeman. Ever since I was little, it has been my dream to become a character animator or artist for animated film. Like every child I grew up watching Disney movies, and other animated cartoons that sparkled my enthousiasm. I would spend weeks on my gameboy camera (yes it was very high tech at the time) to create short stop-motion experiments. Before I learned about some basic animation software.

During my Bachelor of Animation at the Utrecht School of the Arts I learned the basics of animation, storytelling and working for clients.

At the St. Joost Master I found the opportunity to further develop my 3d animation skills. In my research I analyzed cartoon movement in character-animation. I chose to make a relatively short film, so I could spend time on everything involved in a traditional 3d production. From drawing and timing the storyboard, to 3d modeling, texturing, rigging, animating and finally compositing.1

Project Overview

The story is about this little tree frog who is after love, but mother nature just designed him to be awkward in every way. Resulting in a fast-paced cartoon done with much care for detail, and 2d-ish cartoony movement referring to the good old times of animation, yet in a fresh and original mix. My goal is to bring you some unique entertainment that you haven’t seen before!

frog_PSD

 

 

Here are some stills (not final) and animation tests. I hope they sparkle your interest to come and watch the result on the big screen, together with all the other amazing projects made at te St. Joost Master this year.

You can also follow the production blog on my website: http://jeroenkoffeman.nl/ 

 

 

 

 

Concept StillConcept StillConcept StillConcept StillConcept Still

Hope to see you the 28th of August during our exhibit! Or another time.

 

Kind regards,

Jeroen

 

Leave a Reply

