Graduation Countdown: Isabelle Kniestedt

In preparation of the upcoming Master Graduation Exposition in Chassé, each week one of the students will introduce themselves and their work.

profile_adjustedHello everyone! My name is Isabelle and I am one of the students who participated in the MA Animation course this year. I obtained my bachelor degree at the International Game Architecture and Design course at the NHTV in Breda. Here I learned how to make 3D models and animation for video games. It should therefore be no surprise that instead of making an animated short as my graduation project, I opted to make an application instead.

In recent years a new type of app, the “interactive storybook”, has grown in numbers on tablet devices. These digital books aimed at children use animation, games and interactivity to enhance stories. Intrigued by this form of entertainment and its possibilities I devoted my research to it and designed my own.

In order to make this project happen I had to teach myself some new skills, not the least of which was programming. To not have to spend all my time behind a computer screen I also decided to use watercolors for creating my artwork. Using Photoshop I manipulate these watercolor drawings into textures which I then bring into the Unity game engine. Characters are rigged and animated in Autodesk Maya and then also brought into Unity. Using Javascript scripts everything is brought together into an actual app.

Isabelle_Graduation_MakingOf_01Isabelle_Graduation_MakingOf_03

There is still a lot of work for me to finish over the summer, but I look forward to demonstrating the final result to you at the exposition! If you wish to follow my progress in the meantime, I will be posting updates over here: http://campcuckoo.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

