Inspiration: “Bored to Death” title sequence

After seeing a commercial for the series Bored to Death a couple of times on Comedy Central, I decided to give it a try, since it looked pretty funny. I downloaded the first few episodes, and when I watched the first one, I was immediately intrigued by the title sequence:

I’m can’t really tell whether or not it is a good title sequence, because I’m not sure if it sets the right tone for the series, but then again, I’ve seen two episodes untill now. But as an animation on its own, I think it’s really great. The combination of the look of it, and the music is very nice. And I guess it did work as an title sequence, because it made me want to watch the episode even more!

It’s not very very new though, it has already been covered on Art of the Title [link], with an extensive interview with the illustrator and director. It even won the 2010 Emmy ‘for Outstanding Main Title Design’.

Leave a Reply

